Bad Ischl, Bodø and Tartu European Capitals of Culture in 2024

From January 1 2024, the cities of Bad Ischl in Austria, Bodø in Norway and Tartu in Estonia are European Capitals of Culture.

Creative Europe news · January 14, 2024

Since the beginning of 2024, three new European Capitals of Culture (ECOC) have been awarded this prestigious title: Bad Ischl-Salzkammergut (Austria), Tartu (Estonia) and Bodø (Norway). These cities join the 66 previously selected from across the EU and beyond.

Throughout the year, they will host cultural events, exhibitions and performances to celebrate the richness and diversity of European cultures shared by Europeans. ECOC opening is announced for Bad Ischl on 20 – 21 January, Tartu on 27 – 28 January and Bodø on 2 – 3 February.

Maribor (Slovenia) was awarded the title in 2012, while Chemnitz (Germany) and Nova Gorica (Slovenia) will be the European Capitals of Culture in 2025.

About European Capitals of Culture

In 1985, the then Greek Minister of Culture, Melina Mercouri, started the European Capital of Culture initiative. It has since become one of the most high-profile cultural initiatives in Europe.

Cities are selected based on a cultural programme that must have a strong European dimension, including promoting participation and involvement by city inhabitants, communities and stakeholders contributing to the long-term development of the city and its surrounding region.